Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

13170 Views 11 Replies Latest reply: Dec 16, 2008 2:23 PM by NurseTonya RSS
runschoryrun Rookie 2 posts since
Aug 3, 2006
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 4, 2006 3:19 PM

Running with young kids

Any advice on how to get young kids running?  I'm new to running myself so I am at a slow pace too.  My son is 7 and I think will really like it once he gets going, it's just how to get him excited about it.  Any suggestions???

• copasetic1 Rookie 22 posts since
    Oct 15, 2003
    1. Aug 4, 2006 3:25 PM (in response to runschoryrun)
    Re: Running with young kids

Set a good example.  Offer to take him running with you, but don't push, nag, or cajole.  The best way to get him interested is to make it look cool without having to explain why.

For my 4-year-old, so far so good. He saw me running, asked about it, and I offered to take him with me one day. Since then, he'll occassionally go out with me and runs/walks/trots/giggles up to a mile.

Good luck!

----

Profile[/URL" target="_blank">

• newenglandfan08 Legend 462 posts since
    Apr 23, 2006
    2. Aug 4, 2006 3:38 PM (in response to runschoryrun)

just don't force it down his throat. coming from another teen standpoint, poeple usally want to do waht they want, so ask him ONCE a while and hell get into it

• Crazy1004 Legend 1,032 posts since
    Jan 29, 2006
    3. Aug 4, 2006 5:21 PM (in response to runschoryrun)

quote:

Originally posted by newenglandfan08:

just don't force it down his throat.

yep

and he is only 7.