Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

4409 Views 11 Replies Latest reply: Nov 28, 2007 12:21 PM by Sammy51581
stacy31699 Rookie 1 posts since
Jul 9, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 30, 2007 4:13 AM

Starting Walking Program - Today is Day One!!!!!

Today is Day One of my walking program.  I only have to walk 25 minutes at low intensity and I'm scared!  I am a floor nurse and I work today (7a-7p) so I'm going to have to start my program after I get home.  I want to succeed at this and build up to eventually running but I'm afraid of failure...almost to the point of not wanting to start at all.  I just turned 43.  I'm lazy and have never exercised much before but I am a relatively healthy girl.  To be able to run a lap around a football field sounds impossible but awesome to me so for now that's my goal.  I'm starting slow though with a walking program off "Activetrainer".  Words of encouragement are welcome!

• rjgoedken Rookie 1 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    1. Apr 30, 2007 7:17 AM (in response to stacy31699)
    Re: Starting Walking Program - Today is Day One!!!!!

Hi Walker, It sounds like you have a good goal in mind.

"To be able to do some running," and you mentioned running around a football field.  That is a goal right there.  I'm sure you don't realize the walking that you must do at work.  You mentioned that you are a floor nurse.  And what about getting the mail at home?  Do you have a driveway that is sloped?  or is it an apartment.

Just being outside can do tremendous good for your lungs as you must know.  Don't give up!  Just do a little at a time.  When I used to work at a hospital, I just walked outside on my lunch break.  It is a quite doable thing so don't do anything to strenuous for the first time, but build up just a bit all the time.  Best of wishes for you on your new project.  Remember that God is walking with you as well and you can have such a nice conversation with  Him as well.  Trust you have a good start!