Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

852 Views 11 Replies Latest reply: Dec 9, 2007 8:22 PM by easytarget061 RSS
Currently Being Moderated

Nov 30, 2007 4:31 PM

Which HRM do you recommend?

I have been running for the past two months and have been using a borrowed heart rate monitor. My mile time has improved from 12:40 to 8:40 and I have lost 34 pounds. Even though Im 40 and still overweight at 6-0, 250 lbs, I really enjoy running now. Does anyone have any recommendations for a heart rate monitor because there are so many. I am not really concerned about price but I don't want to be an idiot and pay for a bunch of features that I will never use. Features in a monitor I would like are the ability to keep track of pace on a track or on the road as well as the ability to calculate avg. HR.

Thanks

• obadiahmethias Rookie 8 posts since
    Dec 14, 2007
    1. Dec 2, 2007 9:10 AM (in response to Guest )
    Re: Which HRM do you recommend?

The new Runner's World talks about some features of some HRMs out on the market today.

Might be worth looking at.

I had a Polar and use a Garmin 305 now. I love it.

Namaste,

Obi M

• lgreenberg98 Amateur 143 posts since
    Nov 5, 2007
    2. Dec 2, 2007 9:25 AM (in response to Guest )

In a word - Polar.

If you're going to be running have a look at one of the ones which also tracks speed and distance.

-rs800sd
    -rs400sd
    -rs200sd
    -625x