Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

1250 Views 14 Replies Latest reply: Jun 7, 2006 6:00 PM by Momofplenty
dunnagain Rookie 7 posts since
Jul 9, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 22, 2005 7:16 AM

weight gain due to exersice

I have been walking for two months 5-6 times a week.  I have watched my diet- low carbs, low sugar, plenty of veggies, low caffine and alcohol and consume plenty of good fluids, yet each month brought 3 pounds of weight gain.  Yes I look better and the clothes fit looser, but what gives with the scale.  I am in my upper thirties and gave birth twice- but come on why is the scale going up?  It could at least plato-no?  If it is muscle gain will the scale eventually be my friend again?  I was under the impression that muscle helps you burn more fat.  My diet has been constant ( I have been watching it for the longest time) and I have tried starving myself in my twenties.  So what am I supposed to do?  Help me anyone before I give up on exersice for good.  I do take suppliments for metabolistic boosting and water retention.  What else is there left to do?

• martini05 Expert 39 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    1. Aug 22, 2005 8:03 AM (in response to dunnagain)
    Re: weight gain due to exersice

If you have been building muscle, it stands to reason that you would be gaining weight.  Simply put, muscle weighs more than fat.  You should not be focusing the number on the scale, but the fact that you "look better" and your clothes are looser.  You are developing a more fit body, which is the most important thing.

To lose weight, you simply need to create a calorie deficit.  To lose 1 pound, you need to create a deficit of 3500 calories, or 500 calories per day for a week.

• rsrials Rookie 7 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    2. Aug 22, 2005 10:26 AM (in response to dunnagain)