Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1388 Views 9 Replies Latest reply: Oct 24, 2007 1:29 AM by TedAndresen RSS
MikeMcKone Amateur 17 posts since
Sep 4, 2002
Currently Being Moderated

Oct 22, 2007 1:36 PM

Getting discouraged, need advice

I've been running for over 30 years (started when I was 18.)  Now that I'm 48,  it seems my ankles are more sore and stiff in the morning than ever.  This is something that has increased noticeably in the last three years.  It's to the point I'm beginning to question the value of running.  I want to be spry and healthy at 80, and at this rate, I may need to dump running for cycling, swimming, ellipitical, etc.   How are you folks dealing with the increased aches and pains that seem to come after years and years of running?

• Dark Horse Legend 1,684 posts since
    Oct 9, 2005
    1. Dec 26, 2007 10:51 PM (in response to MikeMcKone)
    Re: Getting discouraged, need advice

3M3,