Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1628 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Jan 15, 2008 12:56 AM by Cara_26.2 RSS
cshep Rookie 10 posts since
Jan 13, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 13, 2008 11:47 PM

Hi

So not only am I new to the thread

I'm new to running. I mean I've ran before but the majority of my experience

has come from my time playing football, the farthest I ever ran in one sitting

is 2 miles. Last night I ran 1.2 and I hope to push myself past that tomorrow.

I ran the mile in roughly 9 minutes. I know its slow but I've been running for

a week now and everybody has to start somewhere. I also need to incorporate

weights into my daily routine, I used to train solely for strength so I lifted

weights and ate non stop. It worked as I gained a lot of muscle. but now I need

to get in better shape for my career. But I need to maintain strength as I am a

college cheerleader (lifter) and my career there isn't over. So I'm open to any

help anyone can provide and I admittedly know very little about running. So

I'll look around some and I would appreciate your help.

Shep

• Cara_26.2 Pro 711 posts since
    Dec 14, 2007
    1. Jan 14, 2008 12:51 AM (in response to cshep)
    Re: Hi

Hi Shep - welcome to our community! You'll find loads of great tips and advice here, so when you have questions please ask! and post often to let us know how you progress.