Skip navigation

5850 Views 20 Replies Latest reply: Feb 11, 2008 3:43 AM by Anthony_All3 RSS Go to original post 1 2 Previous Next
  • Trihardist Amateur 27 posts since
    Jul 18, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    15. Feb 5, 2008 7:10 PM (in response to jldowne)
    Re: Swim Training/Drills- What's Next?

You live on a lake?!  And it's marked off for lap swimming?!

You have got a really sweet set-up, then.  Even with my new wetsuit, I can't do anything outdoors, because it's all iced over.  And once it freezes, I'll have to wear a bright swim cap so that I don't get run over by any jet skis.

• bgolly Rookie 2 posts since
    Feb 7, 2008
    17. Feb 7, 2008 8:49 AM (in response to jldowne)

Just popped in on this thread. I can't believe no one has pointed you toward Total Immersion (www.totalimmersion.net). I have been swimming since the early 1970s and have coached swimming since the late 1970s. I was successful at both, but technique always seemed like a hit or miss thing. Not until I came across the Total Immersion information nearly ten years ago did I become really consistent with my coaching. I have practiced the drill sequences myself and follow the program somewhat closely. I am swimming nearly as fast as I did in college on a fraction of the training in a body that is thirty years older.

Check out the Total Swim online magazine, they frequently have articles about technique and open water. In the shopping section you can find a book called "Triathlon Swimming Made Easy". I have not read this particular book, but own three other books from them that I refer to all the time. I highly recommend the "Freestyle Made Easy" DVD. They also bundle these for a modest package discount.

If you spend some quality pool time making your stroke more efficient this winter, the mile swim will go down much easier.

• Anthony_All3 Legend 237 posts since
    Aug 8, 2007
    18. Feb 8, 2008 3:48 AM (in response to bgolly)