Skip navigation

2898 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: Apr 28, 2008 5:27 PM by sleepymyron RSS
Bugs34 Amateur 598 posts since
Dec 14, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 28, 2008 8:51 PM

What do you think of this marathon?

Looking for feedback on this marathon. I have ran Twin Cities and Grandmas and am considering going south of the border. I love TCM but don't want to sign up so early incase of complications. I'm close to 4 or sub-4 hour marathoner and like crowds or at least something scenic. Will I be running by myself at times? Is the metal nice?

• bowulf Rookie 99 posts since
    Nov 30, 2005
    1. Apr 28, 2008 3:06 PM (in response to Bugs34)
    Re: What do you this of this marathon?

I have run the half and the full marathon in Des Moines.  Here is my race report from last year   I have limited experience with other marathons, but from other reports, I would rank the organization of this one up there with the best.  You most likely will never be running alone in this race no matter what your level of fitness.  I was in your group (4hr) for most of last year's race, and I always had runners surrounding me.  Course support was somewhat patchy in spots (there is a large area where you are running through a park where spectators couldn't reach), but some of those areas are the most scenic. 

My wife  was able to meet up with my wife 5 times during the course of the run, so it is very spectator or course support friendly.   The medal is good and looks nice.

• sleepymyron Amateur 26 posts since
    Jan 9, 2008
    2. Apr 28, 2008 5:27 PM (in response to Bugs34)
    Re: What do you this of this marathon?