Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1424 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: May 16, 2008 6:10 PM by JPGarland RSS
evolvesevr Rookie 2 posts since
May 4, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

May 4, 2008 6:26 PM

New to the Marathon Scene (Have some questions)

Hi, I am new to the marathon scene but not from running.  I begin my training tomorrow to catch up to a team who has just completed running the full marathon in Nashville, TN.  I am used to running six miles a day and one of the members of the team said I should come out and train with them for the Marine Corps Marathon, so I am!

Some of my initial questions as I do research for my training regime are:

I weigh 215 lbs and I am planning my calorie, carb, protein, fat intake.  From most sources it says to do your weight times thirteen and that should be your daily average intake.  With Carbs/Proteins/Fats I should go with the 50/25/25 ratio.  With this is mind I will be needing to eat about 2800 calories a day and out of those calories am I doing this right with 1400 carbs/700 proteins/700 fats a day?

Even when I look at this and I am running on my long day, with eating 2800 calories a day I will be sitting on havign my system after I run the 8-10 miles 1200-1500 calories.  Not sure if this is exactly healthy seeing how I thought I should be staying at the 2800 calorie mark.

Any suggestions or feedback would be great and I look forward to it.

• SportiGrl Pro 470 posts since
    Jul 22, 2004
    1. May 9, 2008 8:52 PM (in response to evolvesevr)
    Re: New to the Marathon Scene (Have some questions)