Skip navigation

13724 Views 30 Replies Latest reply: Dec 23, 2013 11:56 AM by Chris1439 RSS 1 2 3 Previous Next
BigGirlsTri Expert 59 posts since
Jul 9, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

May 23, 2008 4:36 PM

Water Vs. Sports Drinks

I'm new to Triathlons and was wondering if it is ok during workouts and events to just drink water.  Sports drinks upset my stomach.  I made myself drink some after my Tri, but it's like I'm just downing it cause I'm supposed to and I get an upset stomach.  The drink I had at my Tri was not Gatorade.  IT was something that started with a C and the flavor I had was NASTY.  It tasted like really bad cough syrup.  I wouldn't have wished this on my worst enemy.

I only do Sprint Tris, so is it necessary to eat the gel stuff or is that just for longer events? 

I'm just wondering what your opionion is on this subject. Is there an alternative to Gatorade and Powerade out there that taste good?  All and any advice is welcome.

Thanks in advance.

Trinewbie,

Melissa

• Sean0318 Amateur 22 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    1. Jul 31, 2006 2:07 PM (in response to BigGirlsTri)
    Re: Water Vs. Sprots Drinks

I am a runner not a triathlete (yet) but I only drink a sports drink when I am running ten miles or more otherwise I stick to water.  That being said, it may not be a bad idea to have a sports drink after your Sprint Tri.  I would recommend a drink called Cytomax.  I find it is easier on the stomach and not as sweet as Gatorade.  There are a number of flavors, I prefer original but if you want some variety they offer that.  It is a powder that you can mix with water.  I hope that helps, good luck on your next Tri.

• mlb1153 Amateur 45 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    2. Jul 31, 2006 11:31 PM (in response to BigGirlsTri)

I suggest you read some of the comments from athletes that have used the latest new electrolyte hydration powder drink mix called LowOz. Go to website www.xxtrafitness.com (use 11564702 to order online)