Skip navigation

3261 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: May 27, 2008 1:02 AM by wawaski RSS
1caad3 Rookie 1 posts since
Jul 9, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Nov 11, 2004 10:19 AM

Cramping

I have been cycling for many years and have trained for

many years, recently I have been getting cramps in my chest area. I have done some research and come up with they are running cramps or"stitches". The cramping has gotten worse and has now begun to affect my legs.  I have been  to the doctor and he said it may be electrolyte imbalance, magneseum, potassium, or calcium deficientcy.

Does anybody have Ideas?

• peakscoach Amateur 10 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    1. Nov 12, 2004 8:58 PM (in response to 1caad3)
    Re: Cramping

Have a sports physician or nutritionist do an electrolyte profile on you and some blood work to rule these out. Hammer Nutrition puts out a good product called Endurolytes that works really well, but you want to make sure it even is an electrolyte issue. It may also be your breathing. Have you tried switching your breathing cadence? You may also want to step up your endurance (aerobic) training and some stretching. Foods like, strawberries, blueberries, fruits and veggies also have natural occuring electorlytes in them that may help. I hope you get this figured out. Let me know if we can be of greater assistance.

Jeb Stewart MS, CSCS, Coach

The Peaks Coaching Group

"We Care About Your Success!"

www.peakscoachinggroup.com

jeb@peakscoachinggroup.com

(540) 586-4200 phone

(540) 586-5715 fax

Click Here to Check Out Jeb's Strength Training Plans for Endurance Athletes Online at http://trainingpeaks.com

Jul 9, 2007
    2. Nov 14, 2004 1:29 PM (in response to 1caad3)

It is really easy to blame electrolytes and hydration as the cause of cramping but it is not always the case.