Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1714 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Jun 25, 2008 7:40 AM by harlow matello
harlow matello Amateur 11 posts since
Jan 23, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 25, 2008 5:37 AM

what do you eat part 2

Ok what do you eat the day before your race ( I'm a 5K runner) and what do you do and eat the day of your race?

I'm new to this racing thing.  I started out running in January to lose the pounds (reached my goal and lost 35lbs..YEAH ME)  Then I thought I'd give racing a try.  I only have two under my belt which I ABSOLUTELY LOVED!   I'm just wondering what to eat the day before.  My hubby who used to be an athlete in High School said he used to eat pasta.  Is that something that you eat? It just doesn't sound right to me...lol.   

Also wondering what you eat the day of the race.  I have only been eating a banana and water.  The first race I skipped on my cup of coffee and felt horrible, the second one I had my cup and felt great but is coffee really something I should be consuming?

As you can probably guess I am now addicted to races and want to beat my records every time I race.  I'm still new to this so I'm still learning and I want to do everything possible to make myself a better racer.

Thanks for all your help.

• LMB22 Rookie 20 posts since
    May 11, 2008
    1. Jun 25, 2008 6:12 AM (in response to harlow matello)
    Re: what do you eat part 2