Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1466 Views 1 Reply Latest reply: Jun 28, 2008 9:57 AM by lenzlaw RSS
Tammi Kastelnik Rookie 3 posts since
Apr 4, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 22, 2008 9:29 AM

How do I control my breathing?

I've been running for about two years, and I am training for my first marathon. I'm starting my long runs (12+) and I'm having a hard time controling my breathing. I'll take a few quick breaths and then take a long breath. I feel like it's impacting my run and I'd like to learn some breathing techniques. I am open to any suggestions. Thank you!

• lenzlaw Community Moderator 10,389 posts since
    Jan 18, 2008
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Jun 28, 2008 9:57 AM (in response to Tammi Kastelnik)
    Re: How do I control my breathing?

Tammi Kastelnik wrote:

I've been running for about two years, and I am training for my first marathon. I'm starting my long runs (12+) and I'm having a hard time controling my breathing. I'll take a few quick breaths and then take a long breath. I feel like it's impacting my run and I'd like to learn some breathing techniques. I am open to any suggestions. Thank you!