Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

80551 Views 521 Replies Latest reply: Nov 24, 2008 2:44 PM by dave48326 RSS Go to original post 1 ... 27 28 29 30 31 ... 35 Previous Next
  • sixstring819 Amateur 15 posts since
    Jul 19, 2008
    Currently Being Moderated
    420. Jul 20, 2008 12:07 PM (in response to MammaBird)
    Re: New folks

I am new to running kind of.  I was in the Marine corps but after being out for 5 years and injuring my self I gained a lot of weight.  I lost over 100 pounds now and ran my first 5k this weekend in Fenton Michigan.  I di dnot have the best time but I finished so I am proud of That so I am continuing to train and prepare myself for more runs.  I am looking forward to more this was a great time this weekend.

• TKP1954 Amateur 14 posts since
    Jun 18, 2008
    421. Jul 20, 2008 1:41 PM (in response to sixstring819)

Hi Everyone,

I'm continuing to see daily progress on my efforts. Yesterday, I was busy early morning helping with my grandson, so I didn't get out until around 11 AM to run. Maybe not the smartest thing to have done. It was around 96 degrees and I really had to work at it to get the session completed.. What I'm very pleased about is how quickly I'm recovering from my workouts. They don't seem to follow me throughout the day like they use to.. I'm still struggling to get up to anything farther then a full 1.5 mile run.. I just don't seem to have the wind yet. I'll keep working at it... You guys and your stories of support keep me going. So don't stop writing!