Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

4135 Views 11 Replies Latest reply: Jul 29, 2008 6:53 PM by D F RSS
MrsT3Boys Amateur 10 posts since
Jul 12, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 26, 2008 7:32 AM

Training for 1/2 Running on grass

I am new to running,(at 48 yrs)  as is never run before.  I started running (slowly) in May and in July decided to train for a 1/2 in November.  I have just done my longest run ever, 5 miles without stopping, using a training schedule I downloaded from RunnersWorld, on Monday I will try for 6.  My question is I have been running on the local golf course as the only place to run is on concrete trails and I am afraid of the associated aches and pains associated with running on concrete, but do I need to train on some concrete before the 1/2?  Will it be harder to run the 1/2 on the streets and how do I prepare for that without to much risk of developing problems?

• lenzlaw Community Moderator 10,372 posts since
    Jan 18, 2008
    1. Jul 26, 2008 11:01 AM (in response to MrsT3Boys)
    Re: Training for 1/2 Running on grass

Honestly, in terms of effort, it will probably be easier running on the road. Running on grass is softer but I think it takes more effort. If you have good running shoes, running on pavement should not be that much harder on your legs. In fact, Jeff Galloway recently said as much, I think it was in Runners World. He didn't think it made enough difference to worry about it. This goes contrary to the conventional wisdom of course.

Len

Len

• Jay Silvio We're Not Worthy 1,775 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007