NEED HELP?|

2472 Views 1 Reply Latest reply: Aug 6, 2008 8:17 PM by Lagnar
sishwar Rookie 1 posts since
May 27, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

May 27, 2008 2:53 PM

Beginning Swimmer - Training/coach question

Hello all,

I am an enthusiastic running and biker, however I do not know how to swim.

Let me clarify that, I dont know how to breathe rhythmically in water, therefore I can barely swim 100 meters. I am hoping to complete the ironman next year. I need to train for it.

I am also a consultant who flies in and out every week so only have time on the weekends to learn. 

I need help! both in terms of perspective(how long does it take to train for the ironman - I have run multiple marathons and dont envision a problem with the cycling - with proper training ofcourse) as well as w.r.t. direction.

Asking around, i feel that getting a swim coach is probably a smart thing(not getting classes that correspond with my schedule is a problem).

If anyone knows any good swim coaches in the north chicago suburbs(vernon hills, lake forest area), please let me know. I would love to learn on the weekends and train for next year. 

Sincerely,

Ishwar

• Lagnar Rookie 3 posts since
    Dec 27, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Aug 6, 2008 8:17 PM (in response to sishwar)
    Re: Beginning Swimmer - Training/coach question