Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

6858 Views 11 Replies Latest reply: Oct 13, 2008 6:28 PM by Geritol Ninja RSS
ran cakes Rookie 1 posts since
Apr 15, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 18, 2008 5:35 PM

Running with my wife.

I want to start running with my wife.  She is a complete beginner and not quite as enthusiastic as I am.  Anyone got any advise on how to get her pumped up without scaring her away from running and causing a divorce?

• chuckic Rookie 2 posts since
    Jun 13, 2008
    1. Aug 18, 2008 6:05 PM (in response to ran cakes)
    Re: Running with my wife.

Run w/ her and stick w/ her the entire run. I know it may seem hard for you, but you can always go run more later. By running at her pace and walking with her with her when she needs lets her know that you're there for her. It'll help keep her motivated so you can eventually keep up with her! This will help build her up gradually and let her know that she doesn't have to kill herself in order to run with you.:D

• crl8686 Legend 1,293 posts since
    Nov 11, 2007
    2. Aug 18, 2008 11:05 PM (in response to ran cakes)

If there's a good local running club in your area, might be a good idea for her (or both of you) to join it. That way you can share your enthusiasm for running, but she can proceed at her own pace and benefit from the support. Or perhaps do some training together at a local high school track, so you can each go at your own pace without pressuring the other.

2014 highlights...

@ 5K: Ontario Mills Run, Ontario, CA, 25:19

Angels Baseball Foundation 5K, Anaheim, CA, 24:15