Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

6027 Views 71 Replies Latest reply: Nov 29, 2007 3:20 PM by PeterP002 RSS 1 2 3 ... 5 Previous Next
Leggova Rookie 99 posts since
Jun 24, 2002
Currently Being Moderated

Nov 27, 2007 4:29 PM

An ethical dilemma - What would you do?

I have a PhD student who took an English course of mine. Throughout the course they have to write a series of tasks. One of the drafts he handed into me had some plagiarism. I saw him in my office, explained what he had done wrong, told him he had to cite and paraphrase in order not to plagiarise.

Anyway, he has handed in the final portfolio and one task is about 80% from wikipedia (a crime as it is for a PhD student!) and one task is about 80% copied from another student.

The policy of the university is that I inform the Graduate School who inform the Disciplinary Committee and he will have to go to them and argue his case. It is most likely that he will be suspended for a period of time, maybe a month or at most a semester.

The dilemma is that in doing this, his supervisor will find out. Over the last few days, after I called him to tell him that I am failing him and sending informing the Graduate School, he has been BEGGING me not to do it. He wants me to fail him and let him take the course again but not inform the Grad School. Here are his reasons…