Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

4229 Views 10 Replies Latest reply: Sep 5, 2008 10:02 PM by Back in the Saddle
survived99 Amateur 50 posts since
Dec 14, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 5, 2007 10:00 PM

Core strength

I think that I have very low "core" strength and I am looking for ideas on how to improve it so that I can run for longer periods. Here is some more info:

I have been running for 2 years - I am trying to build myself up for a half-marathon next year. I am 49 and have not been athletic AT ALL my whole life. But I just love running. I'm at the 10-12 km long run once/week and 2 or 3 7km runs each week stage.

I had a stress fracture last year and am having some difficulties with my piriformis now - everything happens on my left side. A physiotherapist said that my gluteus medias (sp?) is weak on that side. I have been given some exercises but they don't relate to my core, just this muscle.

I want to be able to run until I'm 80    and I wonder if there is a way to improve my core strength.

Thanks!
Ruth

• jansd Amateur 410 posts since
    Jun 8, 2003
    1. Jul 5, 2007 10:17 PM (in response to survived99)
    Re: Core strength

Sign up for Pilates classes. I think a good Pilates class is the best, most complete, and hardest core workout you can get and it's ideal for running. And you'll work all your gluteals too.

• melistic Amateur 777 posts since
    Oct 11, 2007
    2. Jul 6, 2007 11:17 AM (in response to survived99)

core work is easy and can be done anywhere w/ little to no equipment.
    I'd start w/ some planks which will give you a good idea of how strong you are or how far you have to go.
    A plank is in effect like a push up w/o the push up. assume the position hands shoulder width apart, wrist under shoulders, up on your toes. Your body should be straight like a plank. Do not stick your butt in the air or let your hips sag below the line.
    Do one of these on your hands. 30 second (or less) rest.