Skip navigation

15224 Views 44 Replies Latest reply: Sep 19, 2008 8:32 AM by MotiveForcer RSS Go to original post 1 2 3 Previous Next
  • SSGTGarcia Rookie 2 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    30. Aug 16, 2006 7:09 PM (in response to bkefuji)
    Re: numb toes in clips

I just got back into cycling a week ago after almost 10yrs of putting it aside (The Marine Corps workouts took to much energy out of me). I am currently experiencing the same problem with numbness but its only in my right foot, and its only on my toes and the outside of my foot. I look at my spd cleats and they are at the same exact position as my left foot. Is it possible that because I'm right hand (right foot-kick soccer ball with right foot) that I may have more power in that leg so I might be using more power with my right leg more than my left? My shoes are very comfortable so I don't think thats the problem. I'm not a pro so I don't know for sure. Hope someone can help.

• tomrob36 Rookie 4 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    31. Sep 10, 2006 3:36 AM (in response to bkefuji)

I notice I gat a pain in my left foot in one toe. I noticed that I was clenching my toes during my rides so I try to relax and it helps. I also wear Sidi Genius5 shoes. They have a ratcheting strap and two velcro straps. I leave the one near my toes loose and snug the middle one then tighten the upper one to keep my foot from sliding forward during the ride. Hope this helps.

• powerpedaler Rookie 3 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    32. Sep 15, 2006 5:14 PM (in response to bkefuji)

I agree, it could be bike fit and you could also be pedaling toe down.  I was doing that and consciously worked on it to keep my toes up a little more, and it stopped.

• MotiveForcer Community Moderator 448 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    33. Sep 24, 2006 4:50 PM (in response to bkefuji)