Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

5900 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Sep 25, 2008 7:28 AM by niemsco
ehisaw@wwps.org Amateur 18 posts since
Sep 5, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Sep 19, 2008 10:36 PM

Zoot vs Newton vs Asics Racer?

My next pair of racing shoes will be from one of the above mentioned names, I think.  I just don't know which?  I've heard great things about all 3.  I'm an average runner, I guess....43min 10k, nothing earth shattering, but ok.  I've run in nothing but Asics for the past 8 years and love them, but am disappointed in the 2130s.  Loved the 2110s but, I'd like to try a racing shoe.  I'm new to the triathlon scene, only done 3, my 2nd was Ironman CDA, and 3rd was a 2:28 Olympic Distance.  I'm hooked, love this sport and want to get faster!!

Thanks!!

Eric

• Chocolate Thunder 303 Pro 69 posts since
    Jan 8, 2008
    1. Sep 20, 2008 1:03 AM (in response to ehisaw@wwps.org)
    Re: Zoot vs Newton vs Asics Racer?

Eric,

The bad news, is that I am afraid I cannot answer your question.  The good news is that it sounds like you already did.  If you have had success with the Asics in the past 8 years, why change?  If it ain't broke. . .

All three shoes are quality rides and I am sure most people who read your question will be able to articulate why each is great.  But what works for me may not work for you.  If the last and the size of the Asics has been working, I don't know why you would change?  Certainly as the manufacturer makes changes to their line and "upgrades" the shoes, there will be differences in the same model from one year to another.  No, this isn't done with the intention of making us nutty, it's just the constant search for improvement.  Bummer you were dissappointed with the 2130's.  I know I have had my favorite shoe changed on me too.  Have you tried something else in the Asics line?  Nimbus? Kayano?  DS Trainer? Can you affort to purchase multiple pairs when you know you have found a shoe you like?