Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1912 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Sep 30, 2010 1:39 AM by actmanman RSS
Bailey89 Rookie 1 posts since
Nov 11, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Nov 11, 2008 9:27 PM

College student training for half marathon

Hi everyone!

My name is Lara and I am a freshman in college and I ran cross country all four years of high school but I got mono during my senior year so I had to stop exercising for awhile and sadly I never really got back into it. I ran off and on throughout the summer and I go to the gym occasionally but I have decided that I really want to get back into shape and be able to run as well as I could in high school, even better.

My friend and I decided we want to train for the Shamrock half marathon in Virginia Beach in March but we're not really sure how to train for it. I haven't done more than 4 miles in awhile and I'm not sure how to safely increase my mileage and how much speed work and strength training I should be doing. Any suggestions would be great!

Thanks so much!!

• elliev Expert 42 posts since
    Dec 14, 2007
    1. Nov 12, 2008 3:10 AM (in response to Bailey89)
    Re: College student training for half marathon