Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1539 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Dec 15, 2008 9:03 PM by crl8686
wanrun Rookie 3 posts since
Nov 30, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Nov 30, 2008 9:39 PM

injury-need to stay conditioned

hi, I am a newbie and have not yet been to the newbie runners discussion but I have a question as a runner.  I started running again, I haven't since HS, and am trying to get back in shape, hopefully how I was in HS but it has been six years.  Eventually I would like to train for marathons, however, I have been bombarded by injuries since I began running again.  I started about a year ago, and was doing a mile in about six minutes in my new shoes I was told would be excellent for treadmill running.  Treadmill running is primarily what I must do now because pavement is too hard on my legs and feet.  I had shin splints a few months ago for about a month so I stopped most of my running even though it was hard.  Now that that has healed I have a problem in my left foot which I think is a stress fracture.  How can I continue to stay in as best shape as possible while waiting for this to heal? (I can do other things i just cannot run right now). I lost a lot of what I had worked hard for during my shin splint and I don't wanna do that again.   Thank you for any suggestions

• christine94 Expert 56 posts since
    Sep 23, 2008
    1. Dec 2, 2008 6:29 PM (in response to wanrun)
    Re: injury-need to stay conditioned

I would be very careful doing anything until that stress fracture heals.  That can be life impacting if you don't.