Skip navigation

7026 Views 11 Replies Latest reply: Dec 10, 2008 9:09 PM by Swampy1970 RSS
lrtoburen3 Rookie 6 posts since
Jul 9, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 3, 2007 6:59 AM

Battling Numbness

For those of you who are seasoned cyclists, I have an embarrassing problem that I need some advice on. 

I am a relatively new triathlete.  I have competed in three sprint triathlons this season and I am currently training for the South Carolina Half Iron Man in September.  During my last two biking sessions - rides of 25 and 35 miles - I have experienced numbness in my groin (this is as tactful as I can say it without getting graphic) area that has lasted from hours to a day.  Here are my questions:

Is this normal? 

Should I be worried about this?

Can saddles make as much difference as I've read about?

What saddles are the best to relieve pressure on the perenial nerve?

I'm 37 yrs. old and don't want to do anything that would affect my enjoyment or performance in the long run when it comes to being married to my beautiful wife.

Thanks for your feedback!

Concerned Triathlete

• omabikeryder Legend 289 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    1. Jul 5, 2007 2:15 PM (in response to lrtoburen3)
    Re: Battling Numbness

Pretty short distances to be getting numbness.  So I would say no its not that normal.  Should you be concerned, I would be a little concerned.  Time for a new saddle?  Probably.  Which one is best?  The one you like best.  Lots of posts about saddles, go back and look at some of them.  Before doing anything, have you been fitted to your bike by a professional?  That is step one.  Without proper fit something will hurt.

• MotiveForcer Community Moderator 448 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    2. Jul 7, 2007 9:45 PM (in response to lrtoburen3)

I agree with the previous writer.  OMI is correct. Fit is key. A day of subsequent numbness seems prolonged however and even a medical check up might not be unreasonable.