Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

34239 Views 139 Replies Latest reply: Mar 16, 2009 9:59 AM by MichellePhy Go to original post 1 2 3 4 ... 10 Previous Next
  • Support Our Marines, Inc Rookie 4 posts since
    Jul 26, 2008
    Currently Being Moderated
    15. Feb 20, 2009 7:04 PM (in response to Robin J.)
    Re: Nervous About My First 5K!

Robin,  I am by no means a prodigous runner but, one thing I learned training for my first triathlon (which I started doing about 6 weeks before the event and couldn't even run a mile when I started training) is that  the key to finishing your 5K is PACING.  I do my races carrying over 20% including combat boots in an effort to honor our heroes deployed for war so my pace is pretty slow.   I often see people shooting past me only to see them walking up ahead .. to see them shooting by me and so on.

On my last race .. er even .. a 10K, I saw a woman doing that for a few miles and finally suggested that she just pace with me as I was doing a slow 11.25 minute mile pace .. when we crossed the finish line, she told me she was amazed how easy it felt and that was the first time she had ever been able to complete that much of a 10K running ..

Just a little advice as passed along from my tri coach.    I have no doubt that you will be able to do it, if you pace correctly Good luck

Dianne

• mmherrera Rookie 1 posts since
    Feb 20, 2009
    16. Feb 20, 2009 9:09 PM (in response to pearl8872)