Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

9167 Views 41 Replies Latest reply: Apr 15, 2009 5:26 AM by Marykb RSS Go to original post 1 2 3 Previous Next
  • achtungbaby Pro 132 posts since
    Jun 27, 2008
    Currently Being Moderated
    16. Apr 5, 2009 11:18 AM (in response to heatherrenno)
    Re: 9 Days until my first Half!

I'm not a doctor (or an veteran runner!) but it definitely sounds like "runner's knee" (chondromalacia).  Ibuprofen will definitely lessen the pain you're feeling but you're going to have to rest your knee as well.  If there's any swelling, definitely ice it.  Other than that, you're gonna have to rest it.

• 08/08 Nike Human Race 10K:  1:08:00
    • 11/08 Torrance Turkey Trot 5K:  26:20
    • 02/09 Surf City Half-Marathon:  2:06:12
    • 05/09 Santa Ynez Half-Marathon:  2:06:00
    • 10/09 Nike Women's Marathon: 4:46
    • 03/10 Los Angeles Marathon: 5:25
    • 10/10 Chicago Marathon: 4:12
    • 11/10 Torrance Turkey Trot 5k: 21:11
    • 12/10 California International Marathon (3:56)
    • 01/11 Kaiser Permanente Half-Marathon (1:50:10)
  • lenzlaw Community Moderator 10,373 posts since
    Jan 18, 2008
    17. Apr 5, 2009 3:10 PM (in response to heatherrenno)

This article has a test for runner's knee, as well as symptoms and treatment. Your symptoms are spot on.

http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_5/194.shtml#runknee

Len

Len

• JFieber Expert 22 posts since
    Jan 19, 2009
    18. Apr 6, 2009 11:28 AM (in response to heatherrenno)