Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2292 Views 8 Replies Latest reply: Jul 25, 2009 8:25 PM by dg12 RSS
nopuede Rookie 3 posts since
May 6, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

May 6, 2009 10:26 AM

i am hungry all the time and can't seem to lose any weight

i have been running for 2 years now.  i never really did to lose weight, but definitely didn't want to gain any, but i have anyway.  i don't eat junk, but i do eat a lot of carrots and cereal.  i'm never satisfied and i always feel like i cut my meals short.  i am getting really discouraged about it now and, actually really really bitter...i mean how do you run 7 miles a day and still have a fat ***?!?!?  anyone have the same problem?  what i want to hear is that its muscle, but how much weight can a runner really chalk up to muscle gain?  i can't find that information anywhere.

• Nancy Clark RD CSSD Community Moderator 63 posts since
    Jul 8, 2007

I can hear your frustration; you sound like many of my clients. You are not the only one who runs and still struggles with weight. Somewhere along the line, you must be eating extra calories (even if they are from carrots and fruit and "healthy food" ... those calories still count.)

I separate exercise and weight reduction. I encourage people to run for stress-relief, pleasure and fitness, but not to "burn of calories". (Often, when people run, they end up being less active in other parts of their day and end up not needing more calories.) To lose weight, you need to chip away at eating 100 to 300 fewer calories at the end of the day. Sounds simple, but oftentimes is not....