Skip navigation

3513 Views 9 Replies Latest reply: Aug 15, 2009 8:51 PM by strangerthanfitness RSS
jtucker1974 Rookie 5 posts since
Jul 7, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 7, 2009 11:44 AM

New To Cycling after running problems

Hi all glad to be a member here now.  I am new to cycling after a brief but painfull running experience.  I am 34 and thought it would be good to get in shape with some running.  I bought some cheap shoes and took off.  A week and a half later I had some major pain around my knees.  I bought some good shoes but it was too late.  After a couple doctor visits and two MRIs I found out I have a fractured tibia just below the left knee (stress fracture) and two sprained MCLs.Bummer.  I am in the recovery stages now and think I will take up cycling.  I previously did tons of walking so I thought the running would be no big deal.

Does anyone have any tips on easing in to the sport so I can prevent any future problems like I had with running?  I have a cheaper mountain bike but road cycling seems a little more attractive to me.  Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Jim

Louisburg, Kansas

• strangerthanfitness Pro 120 posts since
    Dec 3, 2008
    1. Aug 8, 2009 6:53 AM (in response to jtucker1974)
    Re: New To Cycling after running problems