NEED HELP?|

2898 Views 11 Replies Latest reply: Sep 30, 2009 6:46 AM by BetsyNoxon
Lorraine 60270 Rookie 3 posts since
Sep 7, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Sep 21, 2009 1:28 AM

Swim Endurance

Hi,

I am new to triathlon at the tender age of 43 and working to the sprint triathlon training programme - the running and cycling are not a problem, but I am struggling with the swimming and making the distance or time in the training schedule.  Does anyone have tips on how to improve my endurance - I can bilateral breathe, and i have good upper body strength - but the prospect of 1500 metres and 2100 metres leaves me feeling totally defeated before I start.  Ive tried to go in feeling really positive, but swimming lengths to make the distance I am  just struggling - can anyone help with advice on how to build the swim endurance and to get my speed up?  Thanks in advance.  Lorijay

• Joe_h1 Community Moderator 1,833 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    1. Sep 21, 2009 6:36 AM (in response to Lorraine 60270)
    Re: Swim Endurance

what seems to be the issue?  are you jumping to these distances or slowly building up? and for a sprint why would you need to swim 2100 M all at one time?

goals for 2011:

break 19minutes for 5k

break 2:42 for olympic triathlon probably Anthracite olympic

break 3:16 for marathon ( a long shot but it's fun putting yourself out there)

• Amigold Legend 187 posts since
    Nov 14, 2007
    2. Sep 21, 2009 8:43 AM (in response to Lorraine 60270)

Try minimal kicking, or barely any kicking at all. It realy worked to help me on long endurance swims.  The leg muscles are your biggest muscles in your body and using them will tax your energy very fast.  As your endurance increases you can slowly bring your kick back into play but don't be in a great rush on that.