Skip navigation

2634 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Dec 3, 2009 3:12 PM by jasonmellet RSS
Hound_Dog Amateur 27 posts since
Nov 5, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Dec 3, 2009 11:32 AM

What pace should I be swimming?

Hey guys,

As a newbie, I'm still trying to determine baseline perfomances for my 3 events. Last night, I timed myself for a 300m sprint swim.  I finished at 7:30min.  HR was about 147.  I felt good, and was pretty relaxed.

What pace should I be aiming for?  For fitness levels:  I'm 37, 200lbs, I run 3 miles in 28-30 min with HR at 165, and have a 1 rep max bench of ~200lbs.

Thanks,

Alexander

• Joe_h1 Community Moderator 1,833 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    1. Dec 3, 2009 12:09 PM (in response to Hound_Dog)
    Re: What pace should I be swimming?

depends on what sort of workout it is. what does yourplan say?

goals for 2011:

break 19minutes for 5k

break 2:42 for olympic triathlon probably Anthracite olympic

break 3:16 for marathon ( a long shot but it's fun putting yourself out there)

• Joe_h1 Community Moderator 1,833 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    3. Dec 3, 2009 1:30 PM (in response to Hound_Dog)

BTW welcome to the sport.  and not to be difficult but what are you planning to do with your 30 min swims?  just hit laps or intervals sets or work on your form?  since it's pre-base phase i say take it easy and go at an easy aerobic pace and work on your form (as an recovery from your other workouts)

goals for 2011:

break 19minutes for 5k

break 2:42 for olympic triathlon probably Anthracite olympic

break 3:16 for marathon ( a long shot but it's fun putting yourself out there)

• jasonmellet Pro 77 posts since
    Jul 6, 2009
    4. Dec 3, 2009 3:12 PM (in response to Joe_h1)

Hey Hound Dog