Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

4463 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Nov 30, 2007 7:56 AM by eddie G
nooner08 Rookie 1 posts since
Jul 9, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 25, 2006 3:59 PM

numb tingling fingers on road bike

What might be making my fingers and hands go numb when I ride ? I only ride to train and do tri a tri distances. When I get on the bike my hands tingle and  go numb enought that I have trouble braking .

Any ideas ?

• madcracker Rookie 6 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    1. Jun 25, 2006 7:56 PM (in response to nooner08)
    Re: numb tingling fingers on road bike

I'm new to road biking and just started this only to compete in triathlons.  I've had similar issues with different bikes I've used.  Here's what I've found so far (keeping in mind I'm a neophyte in the biking part of tri's).

First of all, move your grip around, don't keep your weight on the same part of your hands, move the point of contact around to keep the blood flowing to different parts. 

Next is seat placement.  I've found that if the saddle is too far back or forward than I have similar issues in my hands, arms and shoulders.

this is just what I've noticed in my very limited time on the saddle, hope it can help you a bit.

• porterebert Rookie 3 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    2. Aug 10, 2006 8:19 PM (in response to nooner08)

Make sure you have enough "bend" in your elbows, soft arms. If you stiffen your arms, your circulation will suffer, so will your back/neck.

Hope that helps.

• markhochstein Rookie 1 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    3. Aug 12, 2006 7:27 PM (in response to nooner08)