Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

6516 Views 18 Replies Latest reply: Jun 27, 2010 7:03 AM by architeuthis RSS 1 2 Previous Next
12Melissa12 Rookie 4 posts since
Dec 29, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 17, 2010 5:40 PM

Gu made me sick.  I am training for my 1st 1/2 marathon.

I have been running since April 2009.  I have completed two 5Ks and one 8K.  Did my  first 10 miles today and took gatorade and GU along with me for fuel.  The Gu was awful - had to chase it with the gatorade-gag.  The run went fine.  I was a little slow secondary to VMO pain.  When I got home, I had to stay horizontal x 2 hours sipping 7-UP as I could.  Each time I tried to stand, I felt ill.  After 2 hours, I felt okay enough to eat.  However, quickly, I was blindsided by diarrhea.  Needless to say....NO MORE GU for me.  I read that a lot of people take candy bars or dried fruit along on the long runs as fuel.  Any suggestions?

• runtothefinish Expert 39 posts since
    Dec 8, 2008

I can't stomach GU either, but have found that other things work for me...Chomps don't seem to bother me and Hammer Gel which is more natural doesn't bother my stomach.  That being said, I also REALLY enjoyed orange slice candy and bananas during my first marathon training.   So you might swing by your local running store and checkout some of the brands that are considered "natural".

RunToTheFinish.com

sig copy.jpg

• Billiken on the Run Pro 135 posts since
    Nov 28, 2007