Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1971 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Mar 16, 2010 5:16 PM by Damien Howell
bootsy Amateur 23 posts since
Jul 10, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 15, 2010 7:51 PM

Anyone else hobbled by kneecap pain?

I have been running seriously for about seven years, I am 41 years old, and I average about 40 miles a week.  I have been thru Plantar Faciitis, ITBS, AT, and scores of pulls and sprains over those years.  Each of these injuries was overcome with patience and each had a root cause-poor form, over-training, bad shoes, etc.  For the past year or so I have been dealing with pain in my kneecaps, it started in my left knee and now it is showing up in the right.

Symptoms: crunchy sounds when bending, squatting; clicking and popping sometimes painful sometimes not

Sharp pain when knee is under load at an angle of 30-40 degrees, lunges are really bad front and back

during flareups, it is very painful to kneel on the affected knee.

Oftentimes, the pain goes away while running, then is bad after or the next day

I am going to a Orthopaedist next week, not sure what to expect.  I would really appreciate some feedback from people who have endured this and come out the other side, or those who are struggling now just like me.  My favorite marathon is in May, and right now I don't think that it is going to work out.

HELP!

• aj01 Pro 143 posts since
    Jul 8, 2008
    1. Mar 15, 2010 11:09 PM (in response to bootsy)
    Re: Anyone else hobbled by kneecap pain?