Skip navigation

2890 Views 9 Replies Latest reply: Mar 18, 2010 6:33 PM by SharynLS RSS
SharynLS Amateur 22 posts since
Feb 7, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 16, 2010 6:56 PM

Do I try the Tri.....?

I am a 40 year old stay at home mom.  I am 5 foot 9 and weigh in at 235 (down from 258- 3 months ago)

I started training for a sprint triathlon about 5 years ago...then got pregnant and didn't do it.  I always told myself I would do one by the time I turned 40.

I turn 41 in 4 days!!

I have finished 4 5Ks - my best time being 49:39  

There is a sprint triathlon in my town on June 6th.  It starts with a 5K run, then 12 mile bike ride and then a 1/4 mile swim in the Gulf.

I am not worried about the swimming.  I know I can ride the bike, and I know that my 5K time will improve with the training I will be doing.

I think I can finish before 2 hours.

I have gone to the website to register, but I keep stalling.

I am just worried about being the last runner or biker out on the course and getting lost or forgotten....

Should I just go for it.....or maybe wait until next year when I have more time to prepare?

Moe’s Firecracker 5K 2008 – 50:07:14

John Clay 5K 2008 – 50:30

Pilot Club 5K 2008 – 49:45:44

Race for the Cure 3/13/10 - 49:39:12

http://community.active.com/people/SharynLS/blog

• tom360 Amateur 31 posts since
    Mar 5, 2010
    1. Mar 17, 2010 6:47 AM (in response to SharynLS)
    Re: Do I try the Tri.....?

You should go for it! Dont put it off until next year, sounds like you are confident on the swim and bike but need to focus on the run a bit. Most races are very well marked and its not likely you will get lost...and I find that the participants and the people that run the races are very supportive.

Good luck on your training and keep us posted here!

Tom

goodtri.org

• kapfast Pro 53 posts since
    May 30, 2007
    2. Mar 17, 2010 6:54 AM (in response to SharynLS)

Sharyn,