Skip navigation

4862 Views 13 Replies Latest reply: Apr 23, 2010 8:02 AM by Lyle65 RSS
SpecRuby Rookie 1 posts since
Mar 24, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 24, 2010 10:34 AM

Brand-spanking new Roadie. What am I in for?

EEK!

So, I am very new to cycling. I'm so pleased to have found this site but hope I don't annoy you with all of my questions!

Besides the typical department store special that you'd hop on to ride to your friends house when you were a teen, I've never actually purchased a quality bike for any purpose. My boyfriend is an avid mountain biker and has done a few adventure triathlons, and it is his zest and love of this sport that has sparked my interest in trying something new with him.

My sport of choice is Eventing with horses, so cycling is a little out of my comfort zone.

Spending the weekend at the National Bike Show got me so psyched to try road cycling. Prior to the show, I did some informal research on buying road bikes for beginners, recommended brands, price ranges, frame composition etc. I understood that a budget of around $1000 for an aluminum frame would be a good starting point for such a beginner as myself, which was my plan. But the show didn't offer anything in my size or my budget. But we did meet a wonderful triathlete fellow who owns a cycle shop in the city, and went to meet him the following week at his shop.

... to make a short story long, after being professionally fitted and sized, and trying MANY models, I ended up purchasing a Specialized Ruby, full carbon XL (I'm 5'9" and all leg). The Spec Ruby was THE bike that I wanted but couldn't justify affording being a beginner. But the $2700 bike was a 2009, and trying to get rid of an XL frame gave me the chance to buy the bike for a mere $1800. SOLD! And very excited to have such a bike for my first one!!