Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

4700 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: May 31, 2010 9:27 AM by windnsea RSS
hahines Rookie 1 posts since
Apr 19, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 28, 2009 12:01 PM

Sharp hip pain, any ideas?

I've been running for about 6 months now, at least 4 days a week for the last 4 or so months. I have been using the iFit weight loss workouts on my treadmill which have me jogging now at 5-6mph at 5-10% incline. A few days ago I noticed that I was having sharp pains in my left hip which doesn't just feel like a tight muscle. The pain feels like its somewhere near my hip join area & not my butt or hip or thigh.  I have the pain when I run, when I get off of a chair, step out of my car and, to a lesser degree, going up and down steps.  I haven't worked out in 2 days, but the pain has not diminished (although it is not constant, just when i move certain ways).  Any ideas of what I did to myself? Could it just be a sore muscle?  Any suggestions or advice would be appreciated! thanks

• JamesJohnsonLMT Legend 1,127 posts since
    Aug 23, 2009
    1. Aug 28, 2009 6:45 PM (in response to hahines)
    Re: Sharp hip pain, any ideas?

If you press into the affected area with your fingers and can reproduce the pain, you have probably found a strained muscle. You'll easily know the difference between bone/periosteum and soft tissue like muscle. The important point to know is that the brain often locates perceived muscle pain over joints, leading to misdiagnosis and unnecessary expense.