Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1827 Views 8 Replies Latest reply: Jul 1, 2010 6:32 PM by felynn
Sacman21 Rookie 1 posts since
Jun 2, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 23, 2010 5:48 AM

Running with a partner

Here is my dilemma.  I have been training for about 6 months for a 15k in my hometown.  My girlfriend started running about a two months ago, training for the same race.

My problem is: she thinks it is ok for me to slow down my runs to stay with her while she stops to catch her breath.  I feel like I am hindering my progress and possibly my body by slowing down my running speed and walking with her when I feel good and should continue.

So I guess what I am asking is this:  will slowing up my runs hinder my overall performance?

• Shellou1102 Rookie 1 posts since
    Nov 3, 2009
    1. Jun 23, 2010 7:36 AM (in response to Sacman21)
    Re: Running with a partner

I have the same situation with a couple of my running partners.  Going a little bit slower on easy runs won't hurt, but I wouldn't stop to walk if you don't need to.  The way I manage it is, I typically only run my easy runs with my running partners, and if they need to stop to walk or are going way too slow, I will run ahead for a couple minutes and lap back to meet up and continue running with them again.  They know what my goals are so they are very understanding about that.  I always do my tempo runs or intervals alone so that I will push myself to stay on my pace and get the maximum benefits from them.  Good luck with your training!

2/7/10 - Super Bowl 5K - 27:18

3/14/10 - Corktown Race 5K - 27:54