Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

6982 Views 9 Replies Latest reply: Jun 29, 2010 9:39 AM by TylerDurdinUMD
Brenda Fields Amateur 13 posts since
Feb 1, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 28, 2010 3:24 PM

What is a decent swim time (.5 mi.)?

I'm racing my first triathlon in September (Trek Women Tri in Orlando), and I started training for the swim yesterday.  I swam just over a half mile in about 35 or 40 min with lots of breaks, so I'm feeling really confident that in 9 weeks I'll have a improved a lot and my fears of being rescued by a boat after collapsing mid stroke 5 min in have vanished.  Now I'm wondering what kind of time I should be aiming for.  I'd like to have a decent time, but I'm certainly not expecting to be competitive.  I've been running 5k's for the last 6 months and I usually place around the bottom of the top 1/3 and that would be a great place to be for this triathlon too, but anywhere in the top half would be a major accomplishment.  So that's my question: what is a decent swim time for a half mile swim leg?

runner, cyclist, and triathlete with a healthy Bodyflow obsession

• longislandguy Pro 121 posts since
    Dec 31, 2009
    1. Jun 28, 2010 3:38 PM (in response to Brenda Fields)
    Re: What is a decent swim time (.5 mi.)?

If you are looking to be in the top 33%, I would take a look at last year's results to see approximately what time you would need.

• arcee53 Rookie 4 posts since
    Dec 2, 2007
    2. Jun 28, 2010 4:21 PM (in response to Brenda Fields)

You have to do .5 between 15-18 min. to be top 1/3.

• Iron Dawg Pro 111 posts since
    Oct 8, 2007
    3. Jun 28, 2010 6:09 PM (in response to Brenda Fields)