Skip navigation

3992 Views 12 Replies Latest reply: Jul 28, 2010 7:02 AM by Moriates RSS
brooklynrunz Amateur 5 posts since
Apr 14, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 11, 2010 10:49 AM

Olympic distance tri....I'm sooo not ready. No, really!

Hey all! I'm new to Active. But, lets get directly to the point and save the intro for later since I am in a bit of a dilema. I know, I know. I'm new and all ready starting out with drama.lol

I signed up for the Nautica Triathlon in the winter. After volunteering for the event last year I was given the great opportunity to get a guaranteed entry. I thought, "why not take advantage?!". I have been "training" since. I am a poor swimmer, but I have taken a few swimming classes. I have been able to improve upon my free-style swim technique. I entered a triathlon bootcamp, etc. Nonetheless, the triathlon is this coming Sunday and I am not prepared

1. I tend not to count the laps as I train so as not to freak myself out in the pool. I instead try to distract myself and focus on staying relaxed. Consequently, I am pretty sure I wont be able to cover the 1500m swim distance during this upcoming tri.

2. Freestyle is the only tool I have in my swim utility box. I will be meeting with a friend on Tuesday who will help me learn a bit more (back stroke, swimming on my side etc)

I was all set to defer my entry until next year....when I realized that I pretty much would lose all of the $250 that I put into registering for this event and would STILL have to pay to enter next year's race!!! $250 isn't much to risk  my pride, or my life  for that matter...but it sure makes me start second guessing my decision!