Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2372 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: Jul 22, 2010 6:24 PM by Dees Dude
Beer and Cupcakes Legend 970 posts since
Nov 19, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 17, 2010 8:30 AM

HEAT!  I cant do it !?!?!

Ive been running for a couple years,  lately 30 miles per week in a training plan for the Chicago Marathon in the fall.   However lately its been warmer and very humid. 80+ degrees,  when I head out to run I get extremely fatigued at 2-3 miles.  Today I had to stop for a couple minutes at 2 miles, I never ever  have to stop.  And finishing 5 is murderous.   Whats up with me?   Normally I sweat alot and my fav temp to run in is the 50's.     Am I just not built to run in heat?  I ran a 5 mile race in Long Beach recenlty and it was the 80's  but much drier than here in Chicago.  That race was fine, I did well and pushed hard.    I guess I dont know if its the heat, or if Im wearing myself down and need a break or what?   Anyone else out there struggling with the heat we've been having lately across most of the country?   I cant really afford to stop as I really want to continue with this training plan for the marathon.    Tommorrow Im supposed to run 12 miles,  Ill try getting up at 5 and running before the sun is up high.  Hopefully that works out better!   ??

Virtual Racing Antagonist.  I run for beer and cupcakes.kenyan.jpg

1 Mile PR 6:44

5K PR 22:21 

10K PR 48:30

Half Marathon PR  1:48:43 

Marathon PR - 4:09:10  

i before e except after c, weird?

• Marykb Legend 1,347 posts since
    Jan 16, 2008