Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

7107 Views 19 Replies Latest reply: Aug 6, 2010 7:07 AM by Dog-lover RSS Go to original post 1 2 Previous Next
  • Kristen Hohenwarter Rookie 7 posts since
    Jul 28, 2008

When is your half marathon??  Don't give up!  I am a teacher and the only time I get to run is after work, sometime between 5-8 at night.  Its tough, I know.  In order to make sure I am drinking enought water throughout the day, I take a water bottle with me to work that will hold approx. 32 oz of water and I make sure I drink it by lunch time, then I fill it up again and sip on it throughout the rest of the day.  I used to eat heavier foods for lunch...now I eat salads, 1/2 sandwiches, and include a bunch of fruit or veggies.  If I'm especially hungry, I "treat" myself and bring a Lean Cuisine to work...but watch the sodium!!  If I get home from work late and don't feel like running, I hit the gym and do a cardio workout...the way I look at it is at least I am getting my heart pumping which will help with the stamina on runs.  I hope you change your mind and stick with it and good luck!

Kristen

• jenkins4life Rookie 4 posts since
    Aug 5, 2010