Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1673 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: Aug 17, 2010 6:59 PM by Runnergal262 RSS
UKorBust Amateur 9 posts since
Aug 10, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 17, 2010 12:38 PM

Expectations too high?

I am a beginner.  A slow one.  I've been doing Cto5K until week 6.  Then, just started trying to run for 20 minutes straight and my intention is to increase time until I'm doing 30 minutes straight somewhat comfortably.  Anyway, I'm hoping to do a 5K race the day before Labor Day.  My only goal (so I'm saying) is to finish it (w/out walking breaks); even if it takes me all day.  I'm very proud of where I've come thus far because I could barely get through week 1 when I started out.  Even though I am only expecting to finish the race, I took a look at the times for last year's race and the last on the list had a time of 37 minutes.  I went running yesterday and timed myself and did about a mile and a half in 20 minutes.  At that rate, that's about 40 minutes for a 5K; that's IF I can even run that long.  Can you say L-O-S-E-R?  I'm beginning to think I cannot realistically do it.  Labor Day isn't that far away and I really want to accomplish this goal.  What do you all think?

Shooting for a Labor Day 5K and just want to finish.

• mimi14213 Pro 63 posts since
    Jan 8, 2010
    1. Aug 17, 2010 1:54 PM (in response to UKorBust)
    Re: Expectations too high?