Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1459 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Aug 17, 2010 9:23 PM by Beer and Cupcakes RSS
UKorBust Amateur 9 posts since
Aug 10, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 17, 2010 12:46 PM

Recovery duration?

I'd like to get people's opinion on recovery durations between running.  I am a very slow beginner.  I'm up to running 20 minutes solid.  I can only do a mile and a half in that time, but I'm working on increasing.  I thought since I am a beginner, that it would be wiser to have a day (or two) in between the days I run, so my body could recover.  My joints seem ok, although a slight bit sore sometimes and my hip on my left side is always sore the day after I run (more like a muscle sore...like the good kind of sore), or sometimes if I sit for a long time in the car, it's sore.  I'm wondering if it would be unwise to start running every day...or at least try to, just to see if I can increase my endurance and/or build up to picking up the pace.  Given the circumstances above, what do y'all think?

Shooting for a Labor Day 5K and just want to finish.

• Beer and Cupcakes Legend 970 posts since
    Nov 19, 2009
    1. Aug 17, 2010 12:58 PM (in response to UKorBust)
    Re: Recovery duration?

I think you should keep taking the day off until youre not sore the next day.   This running business is hard on a body thats not adjusted to it.  But the good thing is the human body is amazing and will adjust to what youre inflicting on it.    There's no hurry,  take your time,  be consistent and when you feel good the next day then venture out for another run.