NEED HELP?|

1827 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: Aug 31, 2010 1:26 PM by Swim the World
April W. Rookie 1 posts since
Nov 26, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 23, 2010 11:54 AM

Good race for Newbies?...

Hi There,

I'm new to swimming.  I used to really enjoy running, and I love the challenge of doing various races with the goal of personal accomplishment and enjoying the running community, not trying to go to the olympics or anything.  

I can't run like I used to because of a back injury, which is very sad and frustrating for me, but my physical therapist suggested swimming.  I took a class to learn proper technique, and have built up to where I can swim 800-1200 meters in the pool very comfortably.  Now I would love to start doing some races for personal challenge. So...

What is a good distance for a first race? 

Know of any specific events in the SF Bay Area that are good for beginners?  A lot of the open water events I see seem to be for advanced swimmers only.

Any suggestions of good groups of communities to join in San Francisco?     

Thanks for your help!

April

• Anker Rookie 1 posts since
    Dec 27, 2009
    1. Aug 26, 2010 7:45 PM (in response to April W.)
    Re: Good race for Newbies?...

April-

Welcome!  I'm also a relative newbie, having raced in only three meets.  I started out with short events, just because I felt more confident with that.  In my most recent meet, I swam 25 yard events in all four strokes and longer distances in freestyle (my strongest stroke).  Don't miss out on the fun of swimming relays; they'll really make you feel like part of your team and you'll get encouragement from your teammates.