Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2403 Views 8 Replies Latest reply: Sep 7, 2010 10:38 AM by Vera Lee RSS
prohr Rookie 3 posts since
Jul 28, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 28, 2008 7:36 AM

Garmin 405

I'm a newbie.  Has anyone tried the Garmin 405?  Is this worth the money?

• Lafomar Amateur 85 posts since
    Mar 14, 2008
    1. Jul 28, 2008 2:09 PM (in response to prohr)
    Re: Garmin 405

There is another thread here somewhere that a few people did recommend it. Let me check to see if I can find it.

Mary

Mardi Gras Marathon 2009- 2:15:23

Next Race Up----To Be Determined.....lol

• Lafomar Amateur 85 posts since
    Mar 14, 2008
    2. Jul 28, 2008 2:15 PM (in response to Lafomar)

Thread is entitled "Which Forerunner Model do you Recommend".

Mary

Mardi Gras Marathon 2009- 2:15:23

Next Race Up----To Be Determined.....lol

• D F Amateur 31 posts since
    Dec 24, 2007
    3. Jul 28, 2008 3:05 PM (in response to prohr)

I just upgraded to the 405 from the 205.  It is a serious watch that does more than the average runner will need.  I like the styling first and foremost better than the 205.  It also comes with heart rate monitor, and slick software that can connect to the watch via a garmin stick, no wires needed.  The touch bezel is the key and the backlight is nice too.  Its really not that hard to use once you get the hang of it.  Can also use for cycling.  Measures elevation too.  I think its worth the money, but I'd shop around for the best deal

• Jay Silvio We're Not Worthy 1,775 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    5. Jul 29, 2008 4:55 PM (in response to D F)