Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1391 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: Sep 9, 2010 6:56 AM by skynickel
annec19 Rookie 1 posts since
Apr 2, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Sep 8, 2010 2:30 PM

Foot numbness ?

I have been training for a marathon and am on week 8 of a 16 week plan. I have been running for about 20 years so I am not a novice runner. Recently, I started experiencing foot tingling, followed by numbs in my second toe and then the entire foot. It used to be in my left foot only and now it is in my right as well. I went to a podiatrist who suggested a foot pad under the metatarsal but it caused tremendous pain in my foot. I feel like I am running on wood by the end of a 10 miler. What am I to do.

• JamesJohnsonLMT Legend 1,162 posts since
    Aug 23, 2009
    1. Sep 9, 2010 4:15 AM (in response to annec19)
    Re: Foot numbness ?

I am going to make some assumptions that  your 20 years of running  have not been casual but a long love affair  with the sport. You have no  doubt experienced some of the common  running injuries like shin splints,  runner's knee, ITBS,  AT, PF, etc., and are not about to give up over a  little tingling in  your feet. You've worn out scores of shoes of  different manufacture and  technology, so you would know if some recent  purchase was responsible  for the problem you have now. I'll continue to  assume you tried  different lacing methods to make sure circulation was  not being cut off  to your feet from a bad tie.