Skip navigation

5248 Views 17 Replies Latest reply: Mar 11, 2011 1:34 PM by MotiveForcer RSS 1 2 Previous Next
Noles4Life Rookie 3 posts since
Sep 9, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 23, 2010 9:31 AM

Ankle pain when clipping out

I am a beginner cyclist training for my first triathlon, and even though I've finally gotten the hang of clipping out to prevent embarrassing falls, my ankle hurts each time I do it.  I went to a bike shop to get fitted, and I have 0 pain when cycling or doing any other activity.  It is the act of clipping out that makes the outside of my ankle hurt.  Sometimes, I feel like I am twisting it at a crazy angle to get out (>45 degrees).  When I see other people clip out, it seems like they do not have to twist nearly as much nor use as much effort.  Am I doing it incorrectly?  I'm not yanking my foot up or down; I really do think I'm going sideways, but I could be wrong.

• GarylDavis Expert 46 posts since
    Aug 6, 2010
    1. Aug 24, 2010 11:39 AM (in response to Noles4Life)
    Re: Ankle pain when clipping out

Since you are just getting used to clipless pedals what type are you using.  More importantly, many of them have a "tension" adjusment.  They should not be causing pain to clip out and 45 degrees is not too uncommon so I'm thinking it must be the tension.

Let me know if this helps.

Aug 6, 2010
    3. Aug 25, 2010 8:49 AM (in response to Noles4Life)

Look at the info that I found on a website about your pedals below-

• Use: Competition, Sport riding
    • Weight: 250g/pair
    • Body Material: Polyamide Composite
    • Spindle Material: CrMo steel
    • Bearings: 1 Sealed Bearing, Needle Bearing
    • Adjustments: Spring tension, 9-15 Nm
    • Look Keo Grey grip Cleats with 4.5 degrees of float

My question to you is..do you have the manual for them?  It looks like there are (2) adjustment screws, hex or something similar and you may have to apply the same amount of turns for both.  Not sure because I've never seen them.