Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

57363 Views 402 Replies Latest reply: Nov 12, 2010 12:19 PM by ruddygirl Go to original post 1 ... 12 13 14 15 16 ... 27 Previous Next
  • rodiggity1 Rookie 1 posts since
    Feb 8, 2010

i have been running for 4 1/2 years - 8 1/2 marathons deep/ 1 full marathon completed.

CONS (to be worked on)

1) the starting gate - too busy! for those who have trained for 1/2 / full marathons should get priority on where they start, in the correct wave. for those who are attending to run for the hell of it to get a "marathon" under their belt, start them in the back. without any expectations, they should go last!

2) funneling - the course is relatively flat, but there were many funnels in the course where i couldn't pass walkers on the their cell phones asking the person on the other side of the phone "guess where i'm at!? ...i'm running the 1/2 marathon in Long Beach!!". it's hard to pass these "pedestrians" and not have enough room to hit your splits and make sure you make your determined time. this being my first time where there were restrictions to do just this, it didn't help my pace at all.

3) time clocks - i only saw one clock throughout the race... the beginning of the race!! Enough said. i ran the Honolulu full marathon last December and EVERY mile had a clock to see how everyone was doing and where they were at.

4) finish line stoppage - i finished, then i had to walk another 1/8 of a mile to get out of the recovery station. there were spectators funneling the runners because they were looknig for their loved ones. if the finishers had some space, EVERYONE can see their loved ones cross and recover with their family and friends. it doesn't help that i have to be stuck in a line for minutes after running many miles- i'm not looking to cramp.