Skip navigation

498 Views 1 Reply Latest reply: Oct 18, 2010 9:09 AM by Frank_NL
Frank_NL Amateur 24 posts since
Feb 25, 2002
Currently Being Moderated

Oct 18, 2010 9:09 AM

Line drive caught by F6? With a R1!

NLCS-2: SF - PHI, top of the 5th, 1 out, R1.

A line drive is hit to F6, who catches it.

IMHO, it would have been possible for F6 to 'catch' the ball, and let it fall in front of him. Next he could have started a double play via 2B.

Why didn't he do this?

  • Rich_Ives Legend 1,273 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Oct 18, 2010 9:32 AM (in response to Frank_NL)
    Re: Line drive caught by F6? With a R1!

    6.05 A batter is out when_

    (l) An infielder intentionally drops a fair fly ball or line drive, with first, first and second, first and third, or first, second and third base occupied before two are out. The ball is dead and runner or runners shall return to their original base or bases;


    APPROVED RULING: In this situation, the batter is not out if the infielder permits the ball to drop untouched to the ground, except when the Infield Fly rule applies.

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...