Ball is hit over 3rd, Left fielder goes back, half of the player is in fair, half is over the line. Ball hits in glove but not caught goes to fence. Home ump says foul ball.
We have a talk, he said it is like a bunt, if player touches it out side the line it is foul, no matter where the player is.
I say the ball is not in play until it hits inside the line, the player is in fair play, ball is live, not like a bunt.
What is the correct call?
It's not football. The position of the player does not matter. It's the position of the ball when first touched. If the ball was over foul territory when first touched it would be a foul ball.
Well, almost. There are times when the ball is in fair territory but we rule foul, such as when a batted ball hits the batter while she is still in the batter's box. The ball could be within fair territory when it hits her, but the ruling is a foul ball as long as she is still in her box.
Also, a batted ball that is legally caught is neither fair nor foul. It's simply a live ball. If a fielder catches a batted ball in foul territory, runners may tag up and advance bases. It only becomes foul should the fielder fail to catch it after touching it.
But I'm sure you already knew that...
Manny's comment is especially important if it's a bunt. Sitch: Two strikes, player attempts to bunt, the ball bounces down, then up again and hits her or the bat, and stops in fair territory. Dead ball, and foul ball--which means she's out since it was a fouled bunt attempt. Yes, you will probably have a discussion with the batter's coach.
ACTIVE is the leader in online event registrations from 5k running races and marathons to softball leagues and local events. ACTIVE also makes it easy to learn and prepare for all the things you love to do with expert resources, training plans and fitness calculators.